Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for February 10th, 2009

art_circus_book

So, at long last the book is out.  It’s titled “Art Circus,” and it’s author is Lisa Kettell.  The book is really wonderful! It’s chock full of altered art, all with a circus/fantasy theme. Three pieces of my assemblage art are included in the guest artists section.  I can’t tell you how wonderful and amazing it feels to see one’s creation in print!  I look at the pictures and think, wow!  I made that!  How cool!!! It gives me goose bumps in a good way!

p2090003a

Lisa has become a dear friend to me, and she is an awesome artist – and an awesome person!! – her designs are full of magic and whimsy and have always been a huge inspiration to me.  She has always been uber-supportive of my efforts, and she unselfishly spreads her good fortune and hard work to other unknown artists expecting nothig in return. She truly is a very special person, and I am privileged and blessed to have come to know her.

Lisa’s book also features artwork from several guest artists, including: Gina SmithJennifer Hayslip, Lori Karla, Debrina Pratt, Izabella Pierce, Laurie Duncan, Marla Tomlinson, Amanda Howard, Ann-Denise Anderson, Alejandra Pliegro, Wanda Eash, Sandra Koterba and ME!!! (WHOO HOO!) I know many of these fabulous artists from Flickr and from other internet groups, and their artwork is just truly amazing. So if you can, check out the book – you won’t be disappointed!
 
I must really thank Lisa Kettell for asking me to submit my artwork for her book.  Lisa has been such an inspiration to me and has incuded my art work in several volumes of her indie magazine, “The Faerie Zine,” (soon to be a real magazine published quarterly, I think) and has been a true champion of my artwork.  Congratulations on your latest publishing endeavor, Lisa, and thank you for your unselfish promotion of mine and other’s art works.  I hope someday, somehow I can do for you what you’ve done for me.  I am truly in your debt. 

So, I am still floating on the clouds about this, and hoping that someday maybe I’ll improve my poetry enough to get that published, too!  My retirement just cannot come fast enough – I have so many avenues of interest I want to pursue.  I plan to start writing seriously again, as well as get more serious about getting more of my artwork published – hopefully in one of Stampington’s magazines.  I’m hoping, too, that the jewelry thing will take off.  I would love to create art jewelry from scratch someday.  I’ve also thought about teaching art.  Who knows?  All I know is that when I do retire, I start a whole new life – one I am looking forward to immensely!

Read Full Post »

Well, the bad news is sheesh!   I can’t believe I haven’t blogged since last July – wow, that’s bad.  I guess all I can say is that I’ve been keeping veeery busy.  And I’m home sick right now – so I thought I’d take advantage of that and catch you all up.  This is the 2nd time I’ve had pneumonia since December 08.  *sigh*  My lungs are definitely upset with my place of business – the windows are sealed and the air is probably as old as the building  – and the dust (which is high on my list of allergies)  is totally out of control.  I don’t think my floors have been mopped in a year – and nothing has ever been dusted since I’ve been working there – ever!  And it’s not just me  – there are many people working there who have developed lung ailments.  It’s a sick building that’s making people sick,  but try to get management to admit it!  Eh, they’re all a bunch you know whats anyway.  The good news is that I’m still alive and fighting the good fight, and so is Baby.

SO.  Here’s the news – since July, that I can remember –

I’ve been published !!!! (artwork – more on that tomorrow, I want to do a proper write up on it)

and I’ve been assaulted at my place of business by a subordinate who has been nothing but heartache for me since she started working in my unit ten years ago. (Again, here is the sad story of an escalating problem of disrespect towards me as a supervisor that has gone on and on without any intervention by my boss.  I have him to thank for this.  If he had stood behind me, his supposedly next in line, and reprimanded this person, it would not have progressed to this nastiness.) 

Baby, my little miracle bird, is still with me and showing no signs of  going to that great nest in the sky.  All this after his vet told me he had a tumor in his nether regions last April ’08.  The vet said I’d be lucky to have another 3 months of his antics if I were lucky, but miracles do happen and I still pray every day that the tumor was just a smudge on the xray plate.  Not that I’m complaining!  God, I am so praying that’s all it was.  And that’s all I will say about that, for fear of jinxing him.   

Hmmm, what else…..oh, yeah, I think I’ve finally narrowed my relocation search to Delaware, close to Dover,  though this is not yet written in stone but it looks very promising.  I’ll be spending a few days there in early May to check out some of the communities I’m interested in.  

I am booked and going again to Art & Soul in Hampton, VA from 4/29 to 5/4, and I can’t wait!  I’m completely psyched! I am going to be exhausted at the end of it – I’ve booked 3 more classes than last year, but I still have one  whole day off in the middle to recoup.  

I’ve also finally at long last found a local altered art group not far from home, and we meet 4-5 times a month and do various projects – you can see some of them at my Flickr site  – http://www.flickr.com/photos/cookala if you look at the workshops set. 

And soon now I will be starting my own line of jewelry!  I plan to make lampwork bead charm bracelets, pandora bracelets and necklaces and Steampunk genre necklaces, bracelets and maybe pins and earrings.  I’ll also be using semi-precious stones and swvorski crystals in my creations to add some bling. I’ll be learning how to solder and make my own custom bezels at Art & Soul, andthen I will also start to offer altered art/found object jewelry.   I know the economy is hurting, but jewelry always seems to sell.  So I’m keeping my toes and fingers crossed that this will eventually become a lucrative way to make some mad money after I’ve retired –

and speaking of retirement – Oct 21  will be here before I know it!  YAY!  *does a happy dance* On that day, I will finally be emancipated from a job that has become a true torture for me in every way – and that is so sad, especially because I do like what I do.  Unfortunately, it’s the people I have to work with, and the local politics and invitation only clicks that have done me in.  Gosh, I SO cannot wait for 10/21!!

So, that’s all for today.  I’m feeling the fatigue from the pneumonia and the fever in a big way suddenly and I think I should get into bed for a little while, perchance to dream…

but more tomorrow on the publication!  YAY!

Read Full Post »

